2017 Soul Train Music Awards logoThis year the 2017 Soul Train Awards celebrated 30 years and was hosted for the third straight year by Erykah Badu. The ceremony was held at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas on Nov. 5. Solange and Bruno Mars led the field in nominations.

SWV, Sisters With Voices opened the show with a medley of their hits and asked the audience to help them celebrate 25 years. The audience stood and helped them sing Weak and never sat throughout their whole set. Method Man and U-God joined in and helped the ladies close.

Erykah Badu came out in a purple jogging suit and took a knee on stage to open her monologue. She said, “This is for Kap.”

She made jokes about Trump watching the Soul Train Awards and joking imitated a few dances he may do.

Erykah welcomed the first presenter of the evening, actor Deon Cole. He announced the Soul Train Certified Award, which went to Ledisi. This award was a tied and Bell Biv Devoe also took home the Certified Award trophy. They thanked the fans for keeping them going for over 25 years, and they thanked Don Cornelius for opening doors and providing a platform.

The next category was Video of the Year. The 2017 Soul Train Award went to Bruno Mars for 24K Magic. He wasn’t there to receive the Award.

The next performance was Tamar Braxton. She belted out her hit Blind.
Tamar Braxton performs Blind at 2017 Soul Train Awards, uploaded by IAmDeronJordan

Fantasia sang Free Yourself followed by a bevy of talent including Faith Evans who sang You Used To Love Me.

The Grammy Award-winning and multi-platinum-selling R&B group 112 performed hits from their highly successful album, Q Mike Slim Daron.

Bell Biv Devoe presented the Lady of Soul Award to SWV. After the video journey through their career and stating that SWV has sold over 25 million records, the ladies took the stage and the 2017 Soul Train Awards Lady of Soul honor. “Oh my God we ain’t never won nothing.” They thanked God, their families, Debra Lee and BET. Thanks to their Smart phones they didn’t miss a name to thank for their success.

Tank was the next performer, he started with Please Don’t Go and went straight into When We.

Keisha Cole performed her latest hit Incapable.

The next award category was Best New Artist and the 2017 Soul Train Award went to SZA. She wasn’t there to accept the award.

Next Kirk Franklin took over. Ledisi led the way with a group of incredible voices and sang Wake Up Everybody. The place went crazy.

Anthony Anderson came to present the 2017 Soul Train Legend Award to Toni Braxton. After her video about her career and surviving her battle with Lupus, a group of singers including Jessie J and Luke James performed her hits to her as she sat in the audience. Toni gave them a standing ovation.

Toni Braxton then took the stage and started with Breathe Again and Love Shoulda Brought You Home, You’re Makin’ Me High and oh yes, she brought it to a close with He Wasn’t Man Enough.

Anthony Anderson then gave her the trophy and she struggled to remember who to thank. She started with Debra Lee, Babyface, Arista Records, her family, managers and everyone. She ended by thanking Soul Train and said, “Thank you for letting me ride. Goodnight.”

Erykah ended the 2017 Soul Train Awards with the traditional closing statement made famous by Don Cornelius, “We wish you love, peace and show.”

Don Cornelius – “And as always in parting, we wish you love, peace and soul.”

See you next year!

Tanya Hart

Hollywood Live Extra

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.